BidVertiser

25 May 2015

Simple organic shapes the Illustrator way

In my post from a few weeks ago, I demonstrated how to create simple organic shapes in Photoshop. In the comments a reader asked me “how to accomplish the transparency effect using Illustrator”. I thought why not showing the same creation in Illustrator while we’re at it. So here we go…

Create the shape

Draw a circle
We start by creating a circle. Select the Ellipse Shape tool (L). Hold down Shift key while dragging. Turn on Smart Guides, go to View > Smart Guides or hit command/control + u. Make sure your Rulers are turned on. Go to View > Show Rulers or hit command/control + r. Drag a horizontal guide from the top Ruler to the middle of the circle. Select the Rotation tool and click in the center of the circle to set the rotation point. Rotate the circle 45°. While dragging hold down Shift key so the rotation snaps to 45°. With Smart Guides turned on you should also be able to see when you've turned the circle 45°. Select the Direct Selection tool (white arrow) and select the path segment on the right of the circle. Hit the delete key.
Now select the Pen Tool and click in the top right point of the circle where you have just deleted the segment of the path to redraw this part as shown above in the image on the left. Hold down the Shift Key and click somewhere on the guide so you draw a perfect 45° line. Click in the bottom right point of the circle shape (that now looks more like a drop of water laying on its side) to close the path.
Create the shape

Add Linear Gradient Mask

Now select the Rectangle tool (M) and draw a rectangle on top of the shape as shown in the image on the right above.
Add Linear Gradient Mask
Give the rectangle a linear gradient fill, going from white to black at an angle of 0°. Now select both the drop shape and the rectangle. Go to the Transparency palette and select Make Opacity Mask from the palette's drop-down menu as shown in the image above. You should see the drop shape filled with a gradient as shown in the image below.
Redraw the Linear Gradient in the mask
Select the mask thumbnail in the Transparency palette. Now you are in the Mask mode. Select the rectangle and select the Gradient tool from the toolbox. Redraw the linear gradient so the fill of the shape goes from 100% to 0% opacity from one end to the other. Click on the left of the shape, hold down Shift key and drag towards the other end on the right of the shape. The end point where you release is where you'll have 100% transparency. Leave the mask mode by clicking on the image thumbnail in the Transparency palette.
Duplicate layer
Grab the layer in the Layers palette and drag it onto the Create New Layer icon at the bottom of the palette to duplcicate the layer.

Duplicate and change color

Duplicate and rotate shape
Select the Rotation tool from the toolbox and click somewhere on the top right of the shape to define your rotation point. Hold down the Shift key while rotating the duplicated shape 180°.
Duplicate and change color
Make the size of the shape slightly smaller (using the shape's handlers and the shift key to keep the exact proportion) and move the shape in position and give it a slightly different fill as shown above. Create a new layer and move it below the layer holding the shapes. Draw a rectangle the size of your document. Give it a suitable fill that serves as background. I used a dark background with subtle radial gradient fill. Lock the background layer (click in the square space next to the eye icon in the layers palette).

Build a 'pile' of shapes

Build a 'pile' of shapes
Repeat the previous steps (Duplicate and change color) to create a pile of shapes as shown in the image above. Group the shapes, hit command/control + g.

Group in a Layer Set and add a Radial Gradient Mask

Select the layer that holds the pile of shapes. Draw a rectangle on top and give it a radial gradient fill from white in the center to black. Select both shapes and rectangle. Just like before, go to the Transparency palette and select Make Opacity Mask from the palette's drop-down menu as shown in the image above. To edit the masking effect you click the mask thumbnail in the Transparency palette. To leave mask mode you click the image thumbnail.

Duplicate the 'pile', rotate and re-color

Create a new layer by clicking the Create New Layer icon at the bottom of the Layers palette. Duplicate the shapes into the new layer by clicking on the layer that holds the shapes and dragging the colored square at the right while holding down the option/alt key. You should see a plus sign as shown in the image above, indicating you are duplicating the selection of objects. Rotate the shapes in the new layer by 180° and select shape per shape using the Direct Selection tool (white arrow) and change the color of each shape. To edit the mask if needed you can go into mask mode by clicking the mask thumbnail in the Transparency palette.

Finalizing

Finalizing
You play around with the layer mode and choose Lighten for example and add some text to finish it off.

Different result

Simple organic shapes in Illustrator
While this is possible to do in both applications, I still prefer Photoshop for this creation. I believe you have a bit more freedom and options in Photoshop. First of all there are more layer modes to play with and secondly you have more freedom for the masking. You can use a brush to reveal or hide certain areas for example. As for the layer modes I get the feeling the end result is a bit different as well. In Photoshop I also use Lighten, but had to set the layer to 50% transparency. In Illustrator even at 100% the effect isn't that dramatic and vivid in color. The big advantage of using Illustrator is the fact that everything is vector-based, which gives you the flexibility to scale your design at any size and still have the best quality. The choice is I believe a matter of comparing the pros and cons in combination with your personal preference.

Weekly tips for Graphic Designers

Illustrator’s Pen Tool: The Comprehensive Guide

Illustrator’s Pen Tool: The Comprehensive Guide

 

If you use Adobe Illustrator, then it's almost certain that you use the Pen Tool when creating your paths. This comprehensive guide aims to introduce or remind you of features, shortcuts, and methods for working with what is arguably Adobe's most essential tool.
Click on artboard to create paths with straight segments, click and drag to create paths with Bezier curves.
Bezier curve
Note the tooltip which gives you precise pixel coordinates wherever your cursor points
Click on a path segment to add anchor points.
Add anchor point
Click on anchor point to remove from path.
Delete anchor point
Click on an anchor point and drag to create bezier handles where there were none, click on an anchor point with handles to remove them.
Convert anchor point
Alternatively, click and drag midway along a path to manipulate it as a curve.
Not part of the Pen Tool group, but definitely associated with it. Click on a path segment to divide into two paths.
  • Select Pen Tool (P)
  • Select Add Anchor Point Tool (+)
  • Select Delete Anchor Point Tool (-)
  • Select Convert Anchor Point Tool (Shift-C)
  • Select Scissors Tool (C)
  • Join two anchor points (Command/Control-J)
The Pen Tool takes on different forms depending on what you're doing when you're using it. Each cursor intuitively makes you aware of the action you are about to perform.
(Caps Lock to toggle between pointer and cross hair)
Prepared to begin path
Prepared to begin path
Whilst midway through creating or editing a path
Whilst midway through creating or editing a path (with grid coordinates)
When mouse button is pressed
When mouse button is pressed
When ready to add an anchor point to path
When ready to add an anchor point to path
When ready to remove an anchor point from path
When ready to remove an anchor point from path
When hovered over begin point of path to close path
When hovered over begin point of path; to close path
When hovered over endpoint of existing path to continue path
When hovered over endpoint of existing path; to continue path
When ready to convert path or anchor point
When ready to convert path or anchor point
When ready to or in the action of manipulating a curved path
When ready to, or in the action of manipulating a curved path
When ready to join new path to existing path
When ready to join new path to existing path
  1. Pen Tool hovers over anchor point: changes to Delete Anchor Point Tool
  2. Pen Tool hovers over path segment: changes to Add Anchor Point Tool
  3. Pen Tool hovers over end anchor point: changes to Continue Anchor Point Tool
  1. Hold Shift to constrain movements to 45°, 90°, 135° or 180° whilst creating or editing anchor points and handles.
  2. Select anchor point with Direct Selection Tool (A) and click Delete. Anchor and adjoining path segments will be deleted leaving two paths.
  3. Pen Tool-Option (Alt): changes to Convert Anchor Point Tool.
  4. Pen Tool hover over bezier handle + Command (Control): allows editing of bezier curve.
  5. Pen Tool-Option (Alt) whilst creating bezier curve: splits curve (unhinges handles).
  6. Pen Tool hover over bezier handle + Option (Alt): splits curve (unhinges handles).
  7. Scissors Tool (C)-Option (Alt): changes to Add anchor point tool.
  8. Add Anchor Point Tool-Option (Alt): changes to Delete Anchor Point Tool.
  9. Delete Anchor Point Tool-Option (Alt): changes to Add Anchor Point Tool.
You can access the preferences which influence the Pen Tool (P) and other related tools by going to Illustrator > Preferences > Selection & Anchor Display.
Selection  Anchor Display
Selection & Anchor Display
Radius of the selection area around anchor points. Must be between 1 and 8 pixels, 1px if you're deadly accurate with your mouse or have a lot of anchors in close range of one another, 8px if you prefer less precision. 3px is the default value.
When checked, this option allows selection of objects only by clicking their paths. Clicking on their filled areas is ineffective, comparable to working in Outline mode (View > Outline).
Also checkable via View > Snap to Point, though via the Selection & Anchor Display dialogue the tolerance can also be determined from 1 to 8 pixels. This value again represents the radius around anchor points. When lining up two objects, anchor points from one will snap to points of the other should they be positioned within the specified range.
It's worth noting that since the release of Adobe Illustrator CC 2014 Bezier handles are immune to grid-snapping. You can therefore make sure your anchors all stick to the grid (great for web use) whilst maintaining precision with free curves.
Determines the way in which your path anchor points and handles are displayed.
When checked, highlights anchor points when hovered over with cursor.
When checked, this options displays the handles of points when multiple points are selected. Otherwise, handles of multiple selected points are not displayed.
 Corner widgets allow you to drag corners in order to make them rounded. You may find it helpful to specify the corner angle at which you no longer want to have the widget displayed. Choose from 105°, 120°, 135°, 150° or 165°.
When wanting to lay down an anchor point I always find it helpful to know what the path will look like. Checking the Rubber Band option gives you a preview of the path before you commit.
Select the Direct Selection Tool (A) before selecting the Pen Tool (P). Hold-Command (Control) to give you access to the last tool selected (in this case the Direct Selection Tool) for editing of paths and handles without deselecting the path.
With path selected, use the Spacebar to give you access to the Hand Tool (H). Move your screen without deselecting the path or changing tools.
While creating or editing an anchor point, click and Click-Hold-Spacebar to alter the position of the anchor point you're working on. Since the release of Adobe Illustrator CC 2014 this manipulation is also possible on the closing anchor of a path.
With the Direct Selection Tool (A) select the end point and starting point of a path. Command (Control)-J to Join.
With the Direct Selection Tool (A) select the end point and starting point of a path. Command (Control)-Option (Alt)-Shift-J to join and average simultaneously.
Bear in mind that the colour of your highlighted paths and their Bezier handles is dependent on the colour of the layer they're placed on.
To smoothen a path by reducing the number of anchor points open the Simplify dialogue (Object > Path > Simplify) and adjust according to your needs.
Conversely, should you want more anchor points to improve manipulation go to Object > Path > Add Anchor Points. A new anchor point will appear after every existing anchor point on the selected path.
To prevent the Pen Tool (P) from changing its function when interacting with other anchor points or paths, open the general preferences dialogue (Illustrator > Preferences > General) and check the Disable Auto Add/Delete option. The Pen Tool will now only draw paths.
Disable Auto AddDelete
Disable Auto Add/Delete
Since the release of Adobe Illustrator CC 2014, control over Bezier handles has improved. Now, whilst dragging handles of an anchor point press and hold Command/Control to independently stretch and shrink the leading handle, whilst keeping its movement paired to the trailing handle.
Advertisement
Drag handles from the first anchor point when beginning a curved path.
Drag your handles around just one third of the curve you're creating for a smooth path.
Position anchor points on a curve where the paths begin to change direction, not in the middle of its curve.
Be sparing with your use of anchor points, fewer points = neater path.
This is all well and good in theory, but while these tips are fresh in your mind why not put them into practice? Download the Pen Tool Exercise file and follow the guides to create precise paths, using the hints and shortcuts covered in this article.

 

Adobe Illustrator for beginners: 11 top tips

Adobe Illustrator for beginners: 11 top tips

Master some cool tools in Adobe's vector illustration software with our quickfire guide.

Adobe Illustrator is a vector drawing tool, meaning you can create artwork that can be scaled infinitely without any loss of quality. It's a fantastic tool for logo design, creating complex vector artwork and playing with illustrated typography design. But coming from Photoshop you may not be savvy with Illustrator and its unique ways: so we're here to help.
From using Bézier points and curves to strokes and fills and adding a more natural look to your vector artwork, read on for some Illustrator secrets for those new to the application.

01. Get to grips with Bézier

Adobe Illustrator for beginners
Bézier control points and curves let you create just about any shape you can think of
Bézier points and curves are the thing you need to master if you're going to be able to use Illustrator to create - well, just about anything. Whilst rather tricky to get to grips with at first, Bézier control points and curves offer the freedom to create just about any shape you can think of.
ADVERTISING
Manipulating points controls the curves, and using the Alt/Shift keys in conjunction with the pen tool (clicking on a curve to add more control points for instance using Alt) you can start to define complex organic shapes in no time at all. The best advice is to practice and discover for yourself how they work.

02. Bézier shortcuts

But a great tip for controlling Bézier curves with more accuracy is to use the Alt key after you've created a point. Hold down the Alt key after creating a point and you can position the next point without manipulating the curve.
In addition, holding down Shift will snap your next point to a 45-degree angle. By using these kind of shortcuts you can easily trace raster images in Illustrator (maybe for a logo design and so on).

03. Strokes and paths

Adobe Illustrator for beginners
Use the Strokes panel to adjust the weight and type of stroke
By default, Illustrator strokes your path (whether created using the Pen tool or a shape tool, etc) with a 1pt black (and fills your shape with white if you connect up the points). You can change the colour or fill using the swatches panel (or indeed the tool options bar at the top of the interface).
The small stroke and fill tool below the main tool panel lets you swap between the two when the object is selected. Using the Strokes panel you can adjust the weight and type of stroke, as well as where the stroke is applied (from CS6).

04. The Appearance panel

 Appearance panel
The Appearance panel gives a quick overview of your strokes and fills at any time
To get a quick overview of your strokes and fills at any time (along with any effects you've applied) use the Appearance panel. You can also quickly change the stroke and fill type and colour from here, including opacity. If you've applied an effect, you can quickly click the name of it to go back and tweak it. Incredibly useful.

05. Easy brushes

Adobe Illustrator for beginners
Use the Brushes panel to quickly apply paint strokes to your lines
If you thought Illustrator and vector graphics was about solid shapes and non-natural media effects, think again. You can, using the Brushes panel and Illustrator's huge range of brush libraries, quickly apply, for instance, paint strokes to your lines.
Double-clicking the brush in the Brushes panel enables you to edit it - and these changes will be reflected automatically on your illustration. You can even create brushes from scratch using vector graphics you've designed. The possibilities are endless.

06. Use the Symbolism tools

Adobe Illustrator for beginners
Use Symbols to create complex illustrations quickly
Similarly, Symbols are a great way of creating complex artwork quickly. Say you want a flock of birds. Simply draw one bird, then select it and using the Symbols panel arrow menu, you can turn it into a symbol. Next, select the Symbol Sprayer from the tool panel and spray it around your page.
You can then use the other Symbolism tools to resize, colour and rotate only certain instances of the symbol, giving a more natural effect. Try it, it's very easy!

07. Warp with ease

Adobe Illustrator for beginners
Experiment with the effects tools for original results
If your objects are looking a little uniform, you can use the effects tools to warp, roughen, pucker, bloat and generally subtly change their appearance.
In the Tool panel, click and hold on the Width tool to bring out the effects tools flyout. Then, use one or each tool (they are brush-based) to gently warp and tweak your object. By double-clicking on each tool in the flyout, you can change options - so experiment!

08. Quickly edit type

Adobe Illustrator for beginners
Illustrator is brilliant for editing type
One of the great things about Illustrator is its fantastic type tools. It's great for laying out type as part of an illustration, but better for editing type. Type out a font, make it larger using the Character panel or Tool Options bar. Then select the box the type is in (not the text itself) and go to Type>Create Outlines.
You can now edit the letters as you see fit by adjusting the Bézier points. It's great for experimenting with new variations on standard fonts. And there's some even better stuff coming with Illustrator CC.

09. Selecting similar objects

Adobe Illustrator for beginners
You can easily change the colour of many objects at once
Once you've become accustomed to drawing more complex shapes in Illustrator and have built up an illustration, you may want to change the colour of many objects at once. But some of those objects may be partially hidden under others, and there may be absolutely loads of them!
So to make things easier, select one of your objects and then go to Select>Same and then choose the option you want (maybe Fill Colour). All your objects with that fill colour will then be selected and you can change them all at once by using the swatches panel.

10. Easy blends

Adobe Illustrator for beginners
The Blend tool is a great way to create gradients
There are a few ways to create gradients in Illustrator (the Gradient panel and Gradient Mesh tools are worth experimenting with and getting your head around) but a great way is to use the Blend tool.
Simply create two shapes with different colour fills (for a gradient effect choose no stroke) and then, with the Blend tool selected, click on the first object and then the second. If you double-click the Blend tool in the Tool Panel before doing this you can change the type of blend it applies (and if you keep your blend objects selected it will apply the changes to that blend).

11. Use presets with the new Pencil Tool

Quick presets let you create a smooth, fluid path with fewer points
If you're using Illustrator as part of the Creative Cloud then the Pencil Tool now lets you use quick presets to create a smooth, fluid path with fewer points, or a path that more closely matches your drawing intent.
As well as curves, you can now use the Pencil Tool to easily draw straight lines too, which you can constrain to 0, 45 and 90 degree angles if you choose. Adobe's also added the ability to continue drawing from the end points of an existing path, and you can now close your paths with a curved or straight line. These two videos show how: